FrontpageSearch trainingsISTQB Certified Tester Foundation Level (v4.0)

ISTQB Certified Tester Foundation Level (v4.0)

Training formats



3 days


2337 €

The ISTQB® Certified Tester Foundation Level (CTFL) certification is the cornerstone of essential testing knowledge that can be applied to real-world scenarios. The syllabus provides a comprehensive understanding of the terminology and concepts used in the testing domain worldwide, making it relevant for all software delivery approaches and practices, including Waterfall, Agile, DevOps, and Continuous Delivery. CTFL certification is recognised as a prerequisite to all other ISTQB® certifications where Foundation Level is required.

The Learning Outcomes expected of a candidate who has achieved the new Foundation Level certification are as follows:

  • Understand what testing is and why it is beneficial.
  • Understand fundamental concepts of software testing.
  • Identify the test approach and activities to be implemented depending on the context of testing.
  • Assess and improve the quality of documentation.
  • Increase the effectiveness and efficiency of testing.
  • Align the test process with the software development lifecycle.
  • Understand test management principles.
  • Write and communicate clear and understandable defect reports.
  • Understand the factors that influence the priorities and efforts related to testing.
  • Work as part of a cross-functional team
  • Know risks and benefits related to test automation.
  • Identify essential skills required for testing.
  • Understand the impact of risk on testing.
  • Effectively report on test progress and quality

The course requires no prerequisites to attend, however the CTFL 4.0 certification is suitable for anyone who needs to demonstrate practical knowledge of the fundamental concepts of software testing.

This syllabus forms the basis for the International Software Testing Qualification at the Foundation Level.

Its content is not a description of the entire knowledge area of software testing.

Exam Information

  • The examination consists of a one-hour exam with 40 multiple choice questions.
  • It will be a 'closed book' examination i.e. no notes or books will be allowed.
  • Duration of 60 minutes (or 75 minutes for candidates taking examinations that are not in their native language)
  • No study material or electronic devices (including mobile phones) may be used during the examination Candidates are allowed to use simple non-programmable calculators (to be provided by the candidate)
  • An official translation of terms (not their definitions) from the ISTQB® Glossary to the local language is allowed. Candidates taking exams that are not in their native language may use a paper-based translation dictionary.
  • The pass mark is 65% (26 out of 40).

More Information

Holders of this certification will be eligible to proceed to the next stage of the Core stream and take Test Analyst, Technical Test Analyst, or Test Management Advanced Level certifications. They may also choose to follow the Agile or Specialist streams to develop specific skills.